All About Me

Hi there, my name is Laura...and Iím going to share a bit about myself with you *‹* I was born in Oakland, California and spent the first 13 years of my life there. I am the youngest of eight children and have always loved children in my life. I started babysitting children at age eleven...and the rest is history.

I attended the Renaissance School of the Arts in the seventh & eighth was the best experience of my young life.  I come from a family of artists and being able to go to a specialized art school at such a young age was a dream come true. During my time there I studied drawing, painting, calligraphy and drama. Once my family moved to Oregon I attended middle school and then continued my art courses once I reached high school.  I took a total of six years of calligraphy...which was popular before you could type it on computers *‹*
I also enjoyed ceramics, painting and four years of art courses, including sketching, silk screening, water color, oils and such.....I love all aspects of art! Now I spend much of my free time creating web pages on the internet....this is another form of art that I hope to master some day! LOL.

After many years of babysitting and then working in restaurant management & the hotel business for ten years, I got married and had two beautiful children!
I was not happy with the care my daugher was getting at a national daycare center, so I decided when she was 2 years old to start my own business.  Now
Jen is 22 and my son, Coty is 17. Iím very excited to be a new grandma (Nana) and look forward to spending lots of time with Angela Rose.

In April 2007 I closed my daycare in the Rock Creek / Bethany area to pursue school and move our family to Saint Helens in January 2008.  Now Iím ready to reopen Lilífaces, going on my 19th year! I plan to care for a very small group of toddlers & preschoolers.

 I have been running my own professional in-home daycare since July 1989 and I couldnít see myself doing anything else. I feel my career choice is a very important one and I hope that I make a difference in every childís life that comes to my home.  I want them to remember ĎLauraí as the fun home they went to where they were safe, received a lot of love and had fun learning in the process!!!

Lilífaces Child Care is the place where hugs are at!! *‹*

~ My Favorite Things in Life ~

My family and spending time with them.

Caring for children and doing what I love.

Gourmet cooking, web design, specialized wall painting, rock gardening and my adorable mini Aussie Sierra Sky.

Watching my children grow to become wonderful adults who love life and respect all living things.

Talking to my dear friend Helena...and of course collecting her adorable graphics at Graphic Garden.

All of my PPO Sisters at Positive Providers Online...
A support group that I founded in February 2002
for child care providers around the world.

Getting away from it all & enjoying fine wine at my favorite place to relax, Edgefield Manor....

Collecting artwork by my favorite artist Jody Bergsma
of the
Bergsma Art Gallery in Bellingham, Washington.

Bergsma artwork was added with permission by the Bergsma Art Gallery.

Lauraís Favorite
Sites & Friends

My Family

Laura enjoying her new granbaby, Angela Rose
May 2008

Mommy with Angela Rose on Christmas Eve
December 2009

Angelaís growing fast...
December 2009

Christmas with Uncle Coty
December 2009

Christmas with Great-Grandma ~ December 2009

My children, Coty & Jen, 12.07

Jen & Sierra, Summer 2007

Our baby, Sierra Sky, 8 weeks old ~ May 2002~

Queen of the house August 2007

[Welcome] [About Me] [Experience] [Bulletin Board] [Calendar] [Policies] [Nutrition] [Mom's Day Out] [Coloring Pages] [Daily Reports] [For Providers] [Oregon Providers] [Friendship Quilt] [Tuition] [Our Awards] [Special Treasures] [Banner Exchange] [Infant / Toddler Care] [Photo Gallery]

Copyright © 1999-2010, LC Webworks, Lilífaces Child Care.  E. & O. E. accepted.
*Please Note: You may not download anything from website unless otherwise specified*